Micro Monday: Home is Your Roots, Not your Destination

I went home this weekend. It was a pleasant trip, for what it was. I got to hang out with my nieces and nephews between scheduled events. I also got to get a four generation picture with the ladies of my family, which turned out pretty neat.

11391417_10153958950274148_2460508803707702041_n

I realize now why I suffer from PTSD. My therapist keeps saying that I was “traumatized” as a child. I didn’t believe her. I mean, really, the word TRAUMA is so drastic. I don’t like to use it. I don’t like to believe that I was a victim of such a drastic word. And I still believe that everyone always has someone in the world who has it worse than you.

I’m beginning to understand though, I have to own that term. I have to stand up and realize that it is a valid diagnosis.

11391218_10153957787544148_5470445991535162672_n

This is the actual street I grew up on.

Above all things I’ve been diagnosed with, the agoraphobia, the panic disorder, the anxiety – PTSD has always been the hardest for me to wrap my head around. The hardest for me to accept.

At the same time, kids don’t come out of the womb with a parenting manual. A guide to raise them perfectly. Parents – all of them – the past, the future, and all of us doing it now – we do the best we can. We do what we know or we do the opposite. In my case, I do the opposite. That should be my first clue that my therapist is right. Right?

 11390161_10153957838369148_4517772786497492264_n

At the end of the day, I can only hope that I can be steadfast in building a bond with my daughter that was not like one I experienced with my own mother until I was much older. I want nothing more than to be a beacon for her, the light in the darkness, the protector of her innocence and her heart. I want to teach her in ways that don’t come easy for me. Things I didn’t understand as a kid.

11295791_10153911941379148_1490546807877106208_n 10462992_10153938418884148_5721539559442144817_n

In the end, I want to have a bond with her that is unbreakable. I strive to keep my tone gentle, my words encouraging, my actions those that I can be proud of. I want to build a foundation between us that will never shatter or fray or tear. We will have our moments of strife, all kids and parents do. I am not naive in thinking that she won’t push me to my limits, she won’t do something so incredibly ridiculous I lose my cool. But I hope, beyond hope, that I will be the mom I want to be and her memories of her childhood will be just that.

10176045_10153961694899148_3224085736826807599_n

That of a child.

Not sure what #MicroblogMondays is? Read the inaugural post which explains the idea and how you can participate too.

10 thoughts on “Micro Monday: Home is Your Roots, Not your Destination

  1. We carry the legacy of our childhoods with us, for better or worse. It is up to us to make it better for our own children, and what a job it can be when trauma has entered the picture. I’ve watched the effects of serious abuse trickle down through generations. It takes a lot of strength to stand up and get the help to stop it.

    • Thanks! We really try to leave our past and the way past generations have raised their kids out of the mix. I didn’t realize what I grew up with wasn’t normal. I figured every kid went through that stuff. So, to find out it didn’t in my older years, I wanted to very much remove it from our parenting all together.

  2. First and foremost, that is the coolest picture.

    I think the fact that you’re cognizant of this — of what you want and what you don’t want in that relationship — is a major piece of achieving it.

  3. Beautiful post. I think your awareness and ability to reflect on the kind of mom you are and hope to be speaks volumes of being able to provide the kind of childhood you want Punky to have. You’re doing a great job!

  4. It is simple, you know better, you do better. That is what I try and tell myself every time that my shitty childhood comes creeping into my parenting style. It is not easy, at all. You are rocking it though. That kid, she is amazing and that just does not happen alone.

What Do You Think?

