I’m not Mommy Anymore…

Which I suppose comes with the territory of being a mom to an almost three year old. Yea, that happened. This kid will be three in March. Where the hell did the time go? She’s constantly keeping me on my toes, she’s sweet when she wants to be and a monster when she feels like it.

She’s a light in my life and my eventual heart attack waiting to happen. She’s been trying to give me a heart attack with her climbing since before she could walk.

485547_10151900101054148_274464932_n936599_10151900104544148_1775117827_n

Now she does full on performances. Usually, it starts with “Ladies and Gentlemen!” and proceeds to be some sort of dance or trick, sometimes a song or dance and if I can get video fast enough, it’s amazing.

IMG_2463

Did you catch the “Mom!” moment. I did. I have gone from Mommy to Mom to Mom…. my. Those two little letters, the small syllable at the end is hanging on by a thread and by the time she’s three, she may be too big for Mommy. When the hell did that happen?

When did our kid get potty trained?

When did she start saying things like “Amazing” and “Ridiculous”?

10363827_10153600460384148_7274139051135733333_n

When did our sweetness start shouting “No” and “I don’t love you anymore” when she gets mad?IMG_2473

When did she develop such compassion and beauty and kindness in her. (Our puppy ran away, Grammy was very sad, Miss Punky watched out the window for her the puppy til bedtime.)

1907513_10153599153804148_6401663627653756544_n

When did my kiddo start ‘reading’ books to me, instead of the other way around?

10942745_10153590391494148_5359634223431004580_n

I know people told me when she was born and before, when I was pregnant – to cherish the moments, don’t rush them. I took those words to heart. I took pictures. I savored the moments. I don’t think it mattered. Time went fast without me. Time rushed me. Time went and took my baby girl from helpless to helpful. From dependent to independent. From crying to singing. From climbing to … well, that hasn’t really changed.

It didn’t matter how many pictures I took. It didn’t matter how many moments we shared, how many milestones we had. She still got bigger. She still grew up. Faster than a blink of an eye. I’m in awe that our Punky is going to be three. I’m more in awe at all the things she is doing, the things she says. Its all just so amazing to me.

I just can’t believe I am planning a birthday party – again. A third birthday. Minnie and Mickey Mouse. She’s insistent. And its the one she will start interacting more with, knowing that its for her. A celebration of her. She will be three in March. Where did the time go? I just don’t know.

I do wish I could hang on to “Mommy” a little longer, though.

8 thoughts on “I’m not Mommy Anymore…

  1. I love the pictures of lil Miss Punky climbing. So friggin’ cute! Growing up is beauty and sadness intertwined. We mourn the passing of moments and time and celebrate with awe the surprises still ahead. Keep on savouring Rach. She is such a lovely child 🙂

  2. It scares me that they grow, but with each stage some more wonder and amazement for our children. So happy that you capture those moments. Some of my favorite times are when I sit with my parents and they show us pictures and tell us stories of when we were little. Little Punky is so adorable! She’s just gonna keep getting more cute the older she gets

    • She also KNOWS she’s adorable. And that’s going to be get more and more a worry on my mind. Or … Kim’s mind. I think she’s set for the Depo at age 5 😉 LOL, kidding, but man, it just goes soooo fast!

  3. Yes. Yes to all of this. Do not blink. That is the one definitive thing I have learned as a parent. PS- Coming from the Mama….ahem…Mom of a 5 year old, they WILL break out the Mommy and Mama when they want something, so it will not be gone forever 🙂

  4. Uuughhh this made me smile and cry at the same time! I remember when you first posted that pic of Punky climbing-doesn’t seem that long ago! Can’t believe she will be three! Seeing our babies grow into amazing little people is certainly bittersweet. Great post!

What Do You Think?

