The Holidays Are Here

Where the hell did 2014 go? I also can’t believe it’s taken me so long to update this blog! I’m one of those people who get sad when people have their babies and then get “too busy” to blog… and here I am, I inherited a toddler suddenly and I am “to busy” to blog!

Believe me, if I could stick this two year old back in the bottle I would. She came with a demon inside her. Literally. I don’t know what happened, but she has such a mouth and an attitude that would infuriate just about anyone. We also just got the first “I hate you.” and “Mommy I don’t love you.”

On a brighter note, we had a nice Thanksgiving, hanging out with family. Where she stole my camera and took her own pictures of everyone. She’s really become such a little photographer.

IMG_20141127_141024 IMG_20141127_141658

And she helped her Grammy make lots and lots of sweets. And of course she got to taste test them.

IMG_1270

Last Saturday we had a little date day, and she got to get her haircut and blowdryed at Shear Madness for Kids. I will highly recommend them always! They are just awesome for kids. She got to pick out the car she sat in while the girl cut her hair. She also watched Frozen the whole time. Afterwards, she got a new bow for her hair.

1129141351a

Have I mentioned that my aversion to large bows and headbands has been overridden? This kid loves all things bows and headbands. SIGH. She wore the new headband when we went on our cupcake picnic. When we go on a date and get her haircut, she usually gets to pick between a cupcake(Smallcakes) or frozen yogurt(Yogurtini). This time she picked cupcakes. The place was packed, so we had to eat outside. Luckily for us, the weather didn’t get bitterly cold until after that weekend!

IMG_1325

Sunday we went to the local mall and saw Santa. It’s been something interesting every year. The first Christmas, she screamed and screamed. Last year, she just sat near him but she clutched her doll the whole time. This year, she almost cut the whole line to tackle the big jolly Santa. I had to stop her before she could get to him and we could wait our turn.

IMG_20141130_163908

And then, in true Punky fashion, once it was our turn, she got up there and didn’t want to sit on his lap. She almost didn’t sit at all. Which is why Santa had his hands in his lap, he didn’t want to scare her.

20141130164400_0001_1

But, she did tell him she wanted a Mickey bike…. where the hell she got that …. I have no idea. Not to mention that we aren’t really sure when she will get to ride that, since Christmas around here usually turns into Snowmageddon and we won’t be doing bike riding for quite some time.

After we visited Santa, we took a ride on the carousal. That’s another thing that she has always been afraid of. I have tried to get her to ride the horses in the past, or the riding toys in the grocery store and she would just scream and scramble to get off the thing. This time, she  climbed right up there and had a blast.

1130141704 1130141701

And on Monday, we started our Christmas Countdown. We started this little Christmas tradition last year. I made a similar envelope and card system for her. Since we are still living with my mother-in-law, we don’t have anywhere to hang it like last year, but its still been pretty fun. You can find my Christmas Countdown cards here. You can download them if you would like, or come up with your own! I’d love to see what other people are doing with their kids this holiday.

IMG_1364

Day 1 – She got a message from Santa. (I used this site and its free). I didn’t take as many pictures of Day One as I would have liked. But, I have video of the whole thing.

Day 2 – We got to help out up the Christmas Tree and decorations with Grammy, Papa, and her cousins.

2014-12-02 18.32.44-1 2014-12-02 19.44.01-1

Day 3 – We made a salt dough hand print and compared it to last year’s hand print.

IMG_1401 IMG_1403

So far the end of the year has been pretty good. Last year I tried to post our countdown every day, so I will do my best to do that again this year. I swear, this kid is a handful, my Etsy Shop has been blowing up since the legalization of gay marriage everywhere and so many new two mom families have been emerging. I’m also working late shift at work, so I am constantly tired when I get home!

Well, I’m off to catch up on all the blogs I’ve been missing out on! Hope everyone’s holiday season has started out as special as you want it to!

9 thoughts on “The Holidays Are Here

    • I totally get it. I’m just as shocked as you Andie! She’s just … not even in looks – this kid is rocking the big kid personality; for better or worse really. LOL

  1. I think ALL toddlers have a demon within them. I hear you on losing the preference for no bows/super girly things. Every day, Evelyn requests her “tutu”. She loves looking & feeling girly…already!

    Glad to hear your Etsy shop is doing so well!

    • Thanks Lindsay. We got a tutu girl over here too. She’s a dancing queen right now! I didn’t even get to that part in this post. But how can I forget, she’s got the whole ballet outfit and she’s not even in classes!!

  2. I was just wondering last night what you had been up to! Keeping busy I see.

    I am with you on the giant bows and flowers and such but I feel it’s a different ballgame when it’s the kid making the choice for her or himself. And when they serve a functional purpose like keeping hair out of face (or food I guess–hair in eyes never seems to bother my munchkin all that much), even better! The taping of giant bows to unsuspecting bald babies’ heads, though? I don’t think I’ll ever get fully behind that one.

    Happy holiday season to you and yours!

    • I’m so glad someone else is in agreement on my bow issue, I mean seriously, I was all about no bows, no giant flowers when she was little. The things overwhelmed her head and just looked stupid. BUT, now, she’s all about it, she wants them and the bigger the better I think! LOL

      • Well, I can’t say I’ve joined you on the bigger-is-better bandwagon; I’ll still choose no bows if given the choice but if bigger bow means a happier kid, I’m not going to stand in the way of that particular childhood joy!

      • LOL, ya know – the sad thing is, I kinda think she wore me down enough that I actually agree with her. I don’t think they need to be gigantic, but those bows look damn cute in her hair 😉

      • Your kid’s got style, that’s for sure. I love her choices because they seem so right for her. And if my kid loved bows the way yours does, I’m sure I’d be right there with you! Heck, I even gave in to toenail polish (though, to be totally honest, it was ONLY because she actually sat still for nail clipping after too many months of violently maiming her mama with flailing kicks every time prior…well worth the pink, sparkly deteriation of maternal morals!).

What Do You Think?

