Mother’s Day Weekend

All I wanted for Mother’s Day was a new family picture and a clean bra. Let’s just say I got both.

IMG_6527

I also got to get up early … 7AM early, change a poopy butt, listen to some whine, shriek and crying. I got to make a cute custom shirt, just for our girl. I got to help her paint a card for her Mama. I got to make a special something for my mother-in-law.

I’ll take the good with the bad. Even though, with what I suspect to be 2-year molars and constipation, the bad is sorely outweighing the good.

In most cases, Mother’s Day is just like any other day for us. It may be because Kim and I have been together for 11 years and we are set in our ways. It could be because our kid is too young to really ‘get it’. It may also be because with two moms in the house – whose day is it? Really..?

Traditionally, Mother’s Day is supposed to be a day where the Mom gets a break, a pass, a free day. One day out of  the year, where she’s supposed to take some sort of vacation from parenting. But, well, in a house with nothing but moms, who changes the diapers? Feeds the kid? Who cooks the dinner? And who cleans the dishes?

I think Mother’s Day may be more a symbolic thing in our house. I have yet another holiday to dress up our Punky.

IMG_6482

I also get to revel in the fact that I made this tiny toddler terrorist. And while I really wish she’d stop with the incessant whining, I wouldn’t trade her for anything in the world, and most certainly not anyone in the world.

IMG_6517

We may not have made her with traditional methods, but we made her with love and determination. I like to think we shape her to be a beautiful person, both inside and outside. Both moms are doing that.

We also get to her whining and when she gets mad, yelling for “Daddy” and then tell her three times in a span of an hour, she doesn’t have a Daddy. I’m not really sure how this conversation will go later in life, but so far, that’s the closest we have come to really broaching the subject.

We went swimming yesterday, my goodness, we have put Punky in a pool every year since she’s been born and her hair just gets longer and thicker each year! Not to mention the uber cute swimsuits she has sported each year!

10363760_10152849822149148_6841497040185969933_n

So, is motherhood perfect? No. Is it messy? Yes. Are there days, like right this moment, when I can totally understand why some animals eat their young?  You bet!

But, I love her to pieces and I will always be thankful for the sweet and sour moments of our darling Punky girl.

Happy Mothers Day to you all! Whether you are still trying to be mothers, lost a mother, lost a child, wrangling terrorists, adopted, foster, or surrogate. You are all mothers. You are all beautiful. We are strong, human making, sanity drained, courageous women! Have a great day and revel in the idea that you are woman.

And, if you get a minute, check this out. It’s pretty awesome.

8 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Weekend

  1. Friends of mine (lesbian couple) split up Mother’s & Father’s day: one mom gets today, the other gets “Father’s” day. I like that. That way they each get a day where they get a pass/a break/breakfast in bed or whatever.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    • That’s a pretty good idea! I would be mostly concerned about the possible confusion for Punky later. Just the knowing she doesn’t have a dad on father’s day and then add a mom celebrating father’s day to the mix. I’d be interested to see how the kids fair in that situation. It’s a great idea though, if you can make it work!

      Happy mother’s Day to you!!

  2. Happy Mother’s Day to you both! I hadn’t considered how two moms in one house might affect the holiday a little bit. But you’re right – overall it’s just a pretty normal day for most people ….we stayed home and cleaned the house. WOO! lol

    • Thanks! I hope you had a great Mother’s Day! Its really just a day. Another day in the year 🙂 Maybe it will change when Punky is bigger, but who knows!

What Do You Think?

