Easter Awesomeness

We had a great day yesterday, Easter was pretty darn great. We found out last week that my mom and my niece were coming to visit – so it was an extra treat for us to have them come for the day, stay the night and then go home this morning. I was able to take my niece to the great park we have here. She and Punky had a blast hanging out, even if they are like 5 years apart.

So Easter morning, I heard Miss Punky in her room babbling away, just singing and playing. I held out until around 9, when I finally woke up Kim and told her the festivities were about to start. I got Punky changed and gave her an oatmeal bar to keep her occupied while the Easter Bunny hid her eggs.

When the eggs were hidden, I came back in the room, and said, “GUESS WHAT. The Easter Bunny hid all your eggs and you have to go find them.” She was still tired and not exactly impressed by this. So, I used a different tactic to get her out of her bed. “AND, the Easter Bunny left you chocolate in the living room to eat for breakfast.”

This is the face she gave me in response!

IMG_6028

 

She made a mad dash to the living room and found her basket, grabbed a piece of chocolate, shoved it in her mouth and that was the start of our chocolate and sugar filled day.

IMG_6050

IMG_6032

We did hunt for eggs, which was a pretty good time. We had a blast with the running around, bouncing on the couch and altogether burning all the sugar out by 11AM, just to be fueled by more, only this time she was all dressed up in her Easter best.

Now, as atheists we don’t have anywhere, like church, to attend, but we still like to get our girl all dressed up in a cute dress and white shoes. She looked adorable.

IMG_6059

The shoes were too big, but the smaller shoes were too tight. She has the chunkiest little feet ever, but they are also long! Go figure.

We got to Grammy’s house where she got more candy and more egg hunting done. First thing she tried were PEEPS and while Mommy doesn’t care for them, she sure they they were awesome.

IMG_6069

IMG_6107

After going to Grammy’s – we took my mom and niece home to hang out and look at old pictures my mom brought for us to look through. I found a lot of me when I was Punky’s age, it was super fun to look and see how much we really do look alike.

After a nap and recharge, I took the three of them to the new park that was built a few months ago in town. It’s pretty darn awesome.

IMG_6133 IMG_6140

Punky especially enjoys the sandbox and the slide, my niece had a blast climbing on everything. She got higher on the pyramid than this rock climbing wall – but she freaked out a bit and had to have help getting down. It was silly.

IMG_6154

I got a great picture of Punky with my mom – which doesn’t happen often, since she lives so far away – but it was super great and kind of accidental.

 IMG_6174

And at the end of the evening, before we went home, I got another shot, perhaps my favorite so far of the two of us. If she was freaking looking at me!

IMG_6164

We ended our Easter night with the girls taking a bath, splashing and carrying on and then watching Frozen, since my mom had not seen it yet. Overall, we had a great day and I am so glad we were too super sick to enjoy it.

In the sick department, I missed work for four days last week and I’m definitely going to feel it in my paycheck, so I’m a little stressed out. My throat still hurts when I swallow and I’m starting to cough more up and out – instead of dry coughing – so I don’t feel as bad and I have my voice, so that’s better than last week!!

Hope everyone else had a fantastic Easter and I can’t wait to read all about it 🙂

6 thoughts on “Easter Awesomeness

What Do You Think?

