Making Traditions that Last

I think its a pretty regular theme of my parenting to give Punky lasting memories and consistency in her childhood.  I think this is why it’s so freaking awesome to be able to actually interact with our child during the holidays.

Of course, we are all about the Easter Bunny in this house. From the mom who sends over 100 letters from Santa to kids everywhere, I am not holding punches when it comes to Easter either.

I have no idea where the ideas of eggs and chocolates and bunnies came into play on a day that was supposed to be reserved for a man who rose from the dead in a really long, time honored tradition throughout the church circuit.

Regardless – I don’t really care why the holiday was given quirks. Much like Christmas and other religious holidays. I am sure people think that the ‘spirit of the day’ is ruined, but I love that it’s more about family and traditions, and the magic of the season.

If you believe people can rise from the dead and walk the Earth, and not eat your brains – more power to you. I don’t think that my traditions of coloring eggs and hiding them through out my house – gathering with my family with a free meal and filling my toddler with a complete and total sugar high is taking away from yours. Really. We can all celebrate the holidays – it doesn’t have to mean the same thing to every where.

So, without further ado – here’s our version of an awesome Easter Eve festivities.

IMG_5999

My mama and my sweet niece are coming to visit me from 3 hours away tomorrow. Which means, I needed to spruce up my apartment a bit. This was my preparation station for the eggs. We dyed eggs last year, but Punky wasn’t really able to participate – so this year was super exciting for me.

However, I got the fake eggs, that look like real eggs, because I was hoping that she could dye them with less mess and possibly less cracks. When we went to dunk them in the vinegar, they didn’t sink! They floated to the top. So … that was a bust.

I had to make a quick trip a block down the street to the grocery store for real eggs, while Kim prepared the boiling water for my return. Miss Punky was less than thrilled to be stopped in the midst of her Easter fun. That was the first of many tantrums this evening.

IMG_6004 IMG_6010

Those eggs were ‘making colors’ for what felt like FOREVER. I finally convinced her to pull them out, after another tantrum of course, but we got her to pick them up, gingerly as a two year old can, and transfer to the carton. We only had 1 spill!

IMG_6015

Basically, one of those orange ones was supposed to be yellow and when she pulled it out, she dropped it into the orange bowl and flipped out! I just told her the egg needed a little orange too! The things I make up – I never really noticed all the strange things moms say to their kids until they come out of my mouth.

After a meltdown over bath vs dinner – her mothers did win – a time out and snotty nose later, we ate dinner, had a talk about nice girls getting a visit from the Easter Bunny, she then proceeded to pull her pants down and waddle to the bathroom. “I hafta go potty.”

That’s new. Well, not completely new. But the pulling her pants down was pretty new. She sat on the potty and didn’t do anything, but it seems like more a thing right now for her. We aren’t proactively doing anything, we are still formulating a plan of attack to be honest. The whole thing intimidates the shit out of me. She’s initiating the moments though, so right now, I figure if we keep responding, one of these times she may actually pee in there.

After our overly sensitive two year old was tucked into bed, I got to put together the basket. Since my niece is coming to visit tomorrow, I didn’t want to leave her out of the festivities, even though I know the Easter Bunny is going to visit her house too. I know how it feels to sit in someone else’s house and watch another kid get presents on a day that’s not their birthday and not get anything.

So, she has a ‘bowl’. It’s all I had. I had to borrow the basket I got for Punky! Quick thinking, some Easter grass and a whole ton of chocolate later, and I’m pretty proud of my modest make of Easter this year – when finances are tough and we are pretty much broke. But that’s a post for another day.

IMG_6020 IMG_6021

So here’s to starting more traditions with my dear one and making her childhood everything it could ever be. And, I will let the magic of her childhood continue for as long as it absolutely can!!

Easter dress and family fun tomorrow! Sure to be a post on that.

6 thoughts on “Making Traditions that Last

    • It’s like every 10 minutes – terrible … nope terrific …. oh wait no, it’s terrible ….. and we are back to terrific again. It’s super ridiculous! LOL

  1. You’re braver than me! We had Splash watch as we dyed eggs, but that stuff is so potent we didn’t let her transfer any eggs in or out of the dye. I read something about dying eggs using food coloring and shaving cream (Cool Whip if you want to eat the eggs later). We tried the traditional method this year (vinegar and a PAAS dye kit), but I think I’d be up for Cool Whip and food coloring next year so Splash can participate more.

    Like you, I enjoy traditions and even if we have to work on building up Splash’s role, I want to at least start something now. For the Easter egg hunt this year, I basically placed plastic eggs full of stickers in a path from her bedroom to the dining room. I left an Easter basket by her door so that when she woke up her “hunt” consisted of picking up all the eggs on her way to get snack. Maybe next year we’ll try hiding the eggs, but this year I think she enjoyed what we did. She especially enjoyed being able to open every single egg to get the stickers inside.

    • I think it’s good to ease them into things, but at least Splash knows what to expect and what to look forward in the coming years when you **hopefully** adopt! 🙂

  2. I swear our girls call each other and plan out nights like these because they always seem to do the same things! Coloring eggs with a toddler is no joke, lol! We too had a few meltdown, which I think just comes with the territory. Overall, it sounds like it was a good time and I have no doubt that Punky loved her Easter basket. 🙂

    • I’m just glad I’m not the only one with the tantrum throwing two year old! LOL, I’m glad they had such a good time overall! I’m going to be posting an actual Easter post soon! I hope you are too, so I can check out Gracie’s dress! 😉

What Do You Think?

