12/52 – Exploring Family Bonds

IMG_5482

 

Miss Punky has been crawling into her Mama’s chair whenever it is vacant. She knows that she’s not supposed to be in her Mama’s chair for numerous reasons. Mostly because it’s right next to the computer and she’s sure to be a bull in a china shop and cause that computer to tumble over.

So, now – it’s a game. It’s a game to see if Kim can see her when she comes back into the room. It’s so freaking adorable to watch. While I’m sure I shouldn’t be laughing, it’s hilarious to see Punky climb into the chair and then look so satisfied with herself.

When Kim comes into the room, they have a little (playful) standoff, staring contest and it’s too damn cute not to laugh at. I can’t help it. Sometimes, Punky will hide her face in the chair, like Kim can’t see her.

The whole game ends in lots of spinning of the chair and giggling. Usually some tickling in the mix. It’s just so great to watch from across the room. Sometimes, I’m jealous of their connection, but then I remember, that Kim and I have an advantage.

Having been together for nearly 11 years, Kim and I are actually pretty different in most ways; hobbies, talents, social skills and parenting styles. We both have strengths and weaknesses and frankly, we mesh well. We have grown into each other and really have been able to go through so much together and it really has glued us together as one person.

It’s an advantage for Punky, because, she has two moms who fill in the gaps and become one complete and total mom. She was carried in my belly and she looks like me. She takes on so many expressions and mannerisms that are distinctly me, Β and it’s beautiful to watch her blossom and take on so many characteristics of her Mama as well. She laughs at the same things Kim does, she seeks so much approval from her Mama just by imitating her. I see her smirk a bit or light the room in the same way Kim does.

In moments like that, I know – blood doesn’t make a family, love does.

From the moment that Kim started talking to Punky through my belly button while she was still inside, to now, two years later, it melts my heart seeing them bond and grow more and more in love with each new day!

IMG_5489

 

And this really is the sweetest thing to watch!

IMG_5492 IMG_5495

 

So, while I’m still puny ill and my throat hurts and I’m a coughing mess – its moments like these that bring brightness to the day full of sickliness.

14 thoughts on “12/52 – Exploring Family Bonds

  1. We’ve started noticing a lot of mimicing behavior from Splash lately. Today she was helping me bring plants to the backyard from my car. As I was walking out of the backyard, I reached my arms overhead to stretch. I didn’t think much of it, but the next time we walked out of the backyard, my husband asked why she was holding her arms up. I turned around and she was walking with her arms above her head. Apparently she now thinks that when you walk out of the backyard, you need to do it with your arms over your head! She did it every time after that. So cute.

    • That’s awesome! I’m just loving seeing this journey for you unfold! It’s going to be such a special time. I really think this age is my most favorite so far!

  2. Aww, this post made me happy! It’s great that P has you both and gets such unique and important things from each of you. I was just telling G the other day that while Grace may look just like her, she has my personality, 100%. Most days that’s a good thing but when both of us like to be in charge and get our way, it can be challenging at times, lol!

    LOVE does make a family – that’s for sure!

What Do You Think?

