11/52 – Exploring Spring Weather

spring

Here in the Midwest of the US, we have been slowly digging ourselves out of cold temps and snowy terrain. Punky got some bubbles for her birthday and we had some fun with them for the first time, really, on Saturday. She was able to really enjoy them, interact with them.

Minus the whining that is currently going on right now, I think this may be my favorite stage in her life so far!

She’s talking so much, she says so many things, she comprehends so much. Today, we picked her up from school and the teacher gave me the most astounded look and said, “She’s so polite.” I just had to laugh. Punky says “Thank you” to everything. Usually at the right time, but sometimes, she just says it.

We’ve been discovering language and she’s been practicing with words. She will say “Oops Sorry.” or “Oh No.” out of no where. “I get it.” She’s expanded to larger sentences that are broken and a little slow, but it’s still astonishing to me that we are able to communicate. She says things like “Have a cookie, Mommy.” or when I prompt her, she will say “Have a cookie, please, Mommy.” which is five whole words strung together!

dayout

 

We have been getting a little more sassy in our words as well. “Stop it.” and “Sit Mommy.” is a frequent couple of phrases coming out of her mouth.

Lots of time is spent making sure that Mommy knows when she is hurt and making sure that Mommy kisses the exact right place on her appendages. And when that spot, that magical, elusive spot is kisses, I get a “Thank you Mommy!” and she’s off running around the apartment again.

bubbles

I know I spend a lot of time talking about her communication, but it really is the coolest thing ever to watch and to hear! It is also dangerous, when her Mommy talks like a sailor sometimes. So, I am taking my time when I speak and trying to be more aware of my surroundings.

Oh! Speaking of communicating, Punky also for the first time, on her own told me “Go potty.” and we went to the potty, pants down and everything. Nothing happened, but Mommy had to go anyway, so why not do what she says.

We haven’t been pushing the idea of potty training, since I’m not even sure where to start and frankly, I think she’s still a little small for that, but since going to school, she’s been telling us when she’s “Poopy”, sometimes it’s not true, and then sometimes, like tonight – it is very true. I can’t tell if she’s telling me she’s “Poopy” before she actually goes or after, because this one time she was telling the truth, I didn’t check!

It feels like its too soon for us to have a two year old. They aren’t kidding when they say time flies. Goodness, they never really tell you how much time flies and people most certainly don’t express, as I don’t think there are words, for how incredibly awesome it is to witness how the time flies and what fills up that time!

And while our little one, minus the ridiculous whining, is generally pretty damn sweet, it’s the quiet moments that I appreciate the most when I forget just why we wanted to be moms in the first place!

quiet

10 thoughts on “11/52 – Exploring Spring Weather

  1. It sounds like you and I are having similar experiences with talking right now. I agree that it’s amazing and fascinating and I love watching her grow up before my eyes. Right now we’re happy with all the one word phrases we’re getting. Your post makes me excited about the possibility of her stringing two or more words together! It’s hard to believe that one day in the future we might actually be able to have a conversation with each other.

    • Yep! We are right around the same thing in development right now! I’ts fascinating right?! I am so astounded, just today, we were looking at a picture of the “universe” and she pointed and said “planets” and then picked a random planet and said, “Mercury.” Mind you it wasn’t mercury, but it was shocking that she even knew how to reference it! Your day is coming and I can’t wait to watch along with you!

    • Thanks, she totally knows she’s cute! LOL – the bubbles are such a hit right now, they were sort of a hit when she was Noah’s age, but now they are ‘the thing’ around here!

What Do You Think?

