Tales From The Playroom

I was asked to write a blog post about Punky’s playtime by DropCam and their campaign for Tales from the Playroom. That’s what I think I will do today.

Today is Punky’s second birthday and that post will come later, likely after her party. She’s pretty darn sick this morning, breathing treatments and everything.

So instead, I thought I’d post a little about the conversations that are suddenly emerging from our beautiful little girl. Since she started preschool, she is showing a bursting of communication. It came on so suddenly, I just can’t believe it. We can have conversations with her – broken conversations and sometimes I don’t know what she’s saying, but it’s astonishing to me that we even have the ability to have conversations with her.

It feels like just yesterday that she was born and now she is pretending, singing simple songs and carrying on two and three word sentences to tell me what’s going on in her head.

IMG_4567

Her favorite phrases right now are “Get Up Mommy” and “Sit Down Mommy.” She’s getting a little bit of bossy in her. Then there are moments when she says “Good Morning, Mama.” out of the blue or counts to six without being prompted. She will sit on the seat next to her Mama and carry on full conversations, obviously, Mama does tend to look at her like she has no idea what she’s saying, but it’s super cute to watch.

IMG_4870

My baby girl has become a big girl overnight. Her playtime right now consists of talking to Dora and repeating Team Umizoomi phrases when they tell her to say things. It’s kind of hilarious to hear her in her room making sounds for her cars and when playing with her animals, she makes them talk to each other in their own little sounds.

IMG_4894

She’s come to love more things, pick out favorites and things that she likes. She knows what she likes and she is having a much better time communicating that in her play. 

IMG_4786

It’s been two years since she came into our life and she’s turning into a little person right before my eyes. Kim thinks I’m nuts, but every time I look at her, I still can’t believe we are mothers, I am always astonished that we have a child and now, as I watch her play evolve and her speech get better and better, it’s so great to know that she’s our daughter and we are her mothers.

It’s the best feeling in the world.

I’ll leave you with a super cute conversation video to show how much we are having fun with the sweet toddler we have. She’s developed into quite the chatty cathy and the cheeks just seal the deal!

This post was inspired by the blog campaign “Tales From The Playroom” done by Dropcam. It’s a high definition video baby monitor, with live streaming to keep up with your kiddo inside and outside the house. I don’t have a baby monitor, and I don’t know that we really need one – as we have a tiny apartment and an eye on the kiddo at all times, but it looks like an awesome device for new parents with the need! Check them out.  If any of you would like to participate in the Tales From the Playroom campaign you can email the Community Manager of Drop Cm with your story/questions at tpham(at)dropcam(dot)com.

2 thoughts on “Tales From The Playroom

What Do You Think?

