8/52 – Discovering Preschool

A whole lot has happened in the last few weeks. We have been doing a ton of things.

Today though, our daughter, little Miss Punky, started preschool today!

IMG_4865

I got her up this morning and she got up earlier than normal, so when I told her “We are going to school!” she shook her head at me in her sleepy eyed expression and said “No Mommy.” after she’s been asking for it all week.

Once I got her out of bed, dressed, and ready to go, she couldn’t get out of the apartment fast enough and quiet enough with all the cheering she was doing.

When we got to the preschool to drop her off, I couldn’t get her coat off fast enough before she was moving onto playing and Mommy was no longer interesting. I set up her stuff with the teachers and then came back to tell her bye before I left to go to work, she didn’t really look like she gave it a second thought!

I was a little anxious leaving her, but finding her quite content, I left with a half ass hug and a forced kiss on the cheek. I thought about what she was doing all day and wondering if she was scared or if she was doing alright.

By the time I got back to pick her up, I walked in and asked her if she wanted to go home and she said, “No Mommy.” I got her to come around to the idea of going home to see her Mama.

When we got home, she was playing in her room and suddenly I hear her in there yelling “Help! Help me!”

We haven’t ever heard this before so I was a little alarmed. Come to find out, she needed her butt changed. She had pooped in her pull-up and she wanted help getting her butt changed. Well, goodness, that’s a new development.

ALSO, she’s currently eating a pepperoni – that’s also a first! Maybe the preschool will kick my picky eater out of the house!

They told me she had a good day and she only cried for a minute when another mom was picking up her kid. So, seems like she had a good day.

I’m hoping she will sleep well tonight!

I’ve been also planning her birthday party. It’s a Cars theme. Racecar mostly, but since I can find all sorts of stuff in the Cars movie theme, we have a Cars blowout planned.

Now that people have gotten the invitations, I can share it. This is the one I sell in the Etsy shop, so it doesn’t have our information on it, but this is what it looks like.

BPR1000

I am working on making her a pillowcase dress out of Cars fabric, which will be black and red primarily. Likely short enough to put her in leggings underneath, since it’s probably going to cold. I’m super excited about it.

I plan on ordering a blank round cake for her candles and then her Grammy and I are going to make a whole lotta cupcakes! I got some cars cupcake wrappers and cupcake towers and I made my own cupcake toppers.

cupcakes3

I have all sorts of ideas for finger foods and Cars themed names like the powdered donuts as “white wall tires” and chocolate covered donuts as “spare tires” and chex mix as “nuts and bolts” and all sorts of other stuff! I’m super excited about the party.

I have lots of decorations in mind and I have sketched it out from my head to paper and gathering up the stuff I need to make this party as good as last  year. Lots of stuff!!

And finally, this last weekend, I took Miss Punky to a birthday party for a little girl that we have known since she was a quasi-neighbor. The girl is two weeks older than Punky so its fun to see them grow up and blossom together.

IMG_4763

IMG_4778

IMG_4795

And I took her, in her super cute birthday party outfit to our favorite picture taking spot. But, it was a little too chilly to hang out there, so we took a few pictures, but it ended in tears and then hugs.

IMG_4834

IMG_4839

IMG_4840

All in all, we had a decent weekend and a great first two days to the week!

3 thoughts on “8/52 – Discovering Preschool

  1. Hey, I have a question I wanted to ask you regarding your blog. If you could send me an email when you get this, I’d really appreciate it. Thanks!
    -Tiffany
    tpham(at)dropcam(dot)com

What Do You Think?

