Day In The Life of Punky – 22 months

The last time I did a Day In The Life was when Punky was 7 months ago. I do so love to do these. I did her daily chronology since she’s been little bitty at 4 months, 6 months, and 15 months. I love to see the changes in the daily life of our kiddo. It’s so fun to look back at them and see how much she has changed and grown.

** As always, for newer readers, please excuse the state of my cluttered, lived in home and know that time stamps are on the pictures but it doesn’t mean she’s literally doing the action from one picture to another. I usually get distracted and she gets moving faster!

IMG_4067

8:12 AM: We started  out in a great mood this morning.

IMG_4069

8:17AM: In true Punky fashion lately, her switch was flipped from happy to cranky in only a short moment. She sat on the potty while I ran her bath water. This is a normal thing for us, but she usually takes her bath at night, but we were headed to the doctor’s office this morning.

IMG_4072

8:22AM: She was not having the bath! She loves baths. Once again, my Punky is asserting her upset twice in the span of 10 minutes. I know – it astonishes me too!

IMG_4075

8:34AM: We had a short respite from anger while eating a little oatmeal pouch for breakfast, drinking milk and hanging with the Giggle Bellies.

IMG_4076

8:40AM: She brushed her teeth without complaint. It was great to have a small moment of good mood. Brushing teeth was her favorite time of day, along with bath, which we had a problem with bath, but yay brushing teeth!

IMG_4080

8:45AM: We had a small meltdown again when we tried to get her shoes on. She snatched the shoe out of my hand and tried her best to get the shoe on her foot, with no luck. She was super irritated with me, but we finally got her shoes on.

IMG_4081

8:57AM: Guess what, I have no idea what she was pissed about, but we got in the car and on the way to the doctor’s appointment. Another spontaneous tantrum.

IMG_4086

9:09AM: Exploring the doctor’s office waiting area seemed to be allow her to be less irritated. SO, she climbed all over the chairs, and it wasn’t any time before the nurse called us back.

IMG_4090

9:16AM: She got to sit pretty on the scale and got weighed. She was 29.7 pounds today. Then she didn’t want to get off the scale at all. I knew were were at the doctor’s office, so I let her do whatever she wanted, since she was surely going to be unhappy soon – with reason.

IMG_4095

9:56AM: After a quick look-see with the nurse and doctor, it was not so awesome when we learned we would have to get a ‘urine sample’. Hm. This Mommy was trying to figure out how we would accomplish this and KNOWING this wouldn’t go very well. By the time this picture was taken, she had the urine bag attached to her “no no area” with sticky stuff! She was pissed.

Then I was instructed to have her drink as much as possible. If she didn’t pee in this bag, we were going to have to give her a catheter. I was not able to take a picture to illustrate just what a train wreck attaching that bag was, but let me tell you – I most certainly wasn’t looking forward any kind of catheter situation with my sweet, temperamental toddler.

IMG_4096

9:57AM: And this is how well that went. For the girl who has been sucking down her sippys at record speed, she decided this was the moment, she wanted nothing to do with that cup. I did coax her to drink a bit, but it was nothing like what I was hoping for and the whole time, I was very much dreading the likely hood of a catheter.

****I have a picture of the pee in the bag, but only to show her Mama the strangeness of a bag hanging out between our kid’s legs. I’m not showing that on the blog. Rest assured, no catheter was needed and she did in fact pee in that bag, beyond all odds****

IMG_4099

10:02AM: This is how she felt about having that bag removed. I can’t imagine how that felt. A very ‘super sticky’ bag stuck down there and then being removed. I would feel violated too! Poor kid.

IMG_4100

10:06AM: She had another meltdown for a good five minutes while we waited for her pee analysis. By the time she calmed down, the doctor came back in and she freaked out again. Basically, she’s fine.

So, the doctor was concerned about her sugar levels or a UTI, given her excessive drinking and peeing and it turns out her urine is fine. She is physically fine. She’s just almost two. Which means she started the “TWOS” two months early and I suppose I’m happy that’s all it is!

IMG_4103

10:27AM: To make it up to her for basically wasting both our time and putting her through violation of her private areas – I took her to Smallcakes. It’s a cupcake shop. I think it was a success.

IMG_4108

IMG_4127

10:57AM: When we got home, she hung out in her room, just in time to catch a little Yo Gabba Gabba and silly faces. She made that face without prompting. I think she was telling me how she felt about the procedures she had just endured this morning.

IMG_4131

12:16PM: I’m not sure what she did in her room up until this point. I got distracted and she was quiet. But, she came out to check on me around 1-ish and approved the new header of the blog. That I spent at least an hour on. Perhaps that’s why I was distracted!

IMG_4139

1:03PM: She found it very amusing to be taking a nap. Every time I end up looking at her room, it just makes me sad that she pulled her star fabric off the wall and I don’t have nails to put it back up!

IMG_4148

5:07AM: Punky took a good 2-3 hour nap and went back into toddler mode. I decided when it was time to do laundry, I would take her with me. She’s such a good little helper. I took her to the laundry room in our apartment complex, which took a good 15 minutes to get there, because we do have go up 2 flights of stairs and down 2 flights of stairs. The toddler likes to take her time.

IMG_4149

5:18PM: Just a little moment with the cat. Let’s just mention that Kitten is the most anti-social cat I have ever met in my life. She doesn’t let anyone touch her except for Kim. The entire first 2 years we had her, I wasn’t allowed to touch her at all. So, when Punky comes over and tries to mess with her, its usually bad news. But, when the kid cries, Kitten is all over it. **PS, that’s not the cat’s blog name, that’s her actual name, because Kim and I flaked on naming her.**

IMG_4153

7:10PM: Dinner of tortellini and garlic bread with a side of juice box and Giggle Bellies. Hence the very big smile. ALSO, she’s been eating more. Thank goodness – there for a minute, I thought we were going to have a toddler that was fueled by cookies and crackers forever!

We’ve taken to not looking her directly in the eyes during dinner time, to hopefully prolong the idea of eating things that are actually good for her. So far, if we don’t engage the beast, she eats a good portion of her dinner.

IMG_4170

7:38PM: I took Miss Punky back to the laundry room in our apartment building to pick up the last bit of laundry from the dryer. She loves to pull the clothes out of the dryer and put it in the basket. We had a small meltdown when Mommy’s jeans got stuck and she couldn’t pull it out. Once I pulled it to start and loosened it up, she was happy as a lark.

IMG_4172

8:10PM: Jumping on Mommy’s bed before bedtime. This is a normal bedtime routine since she was teeny tiny. Love it! Every night it’s something we all do as a family, tickles and jumping on the bed.

IMG_4175

8:32PM: And this is when our night ends. Bedtime. Laying down with monkey and her sippy. And the start of Mommy’s quiet time to take time to write this.

So, what do your kids do all day?? Have you thought about documenting their movements throughout the day? It really is pretty fun and sort of enlightening. It also shows the growth and change in her each new time I do this!

One thought on “Day In The Life of Punky – 22 months

  1. Pingback: A Day In The Life of Punky – 3 Years Old | Religion: Optional

What Do You Think?

