New Things on the Horizon

As a quick side note, anyone interested, I finally put up Punky’s birth story. You can find that and other interesting things that have gone on in our last almost 2 years of motherhood and toddler hood by going to “Highlights of Our Journey”

**In more current events**

IMG_4065

Our little Punky is wearing pink Dora pullups under those pjs. You wouldn’t know it, but she is! I didn’t feel it appropriate to take a picture in her undies and post it on the interwebs. I was tempted though! But after that weird search term I got before … well, that’s for another day.

Anyway, we have been tossing around the idea of potty training, but Punky isn’t yet 2 and she still can’t quite communicate with us when she is going to the bathroom. Right now, we are trying to condition her to telling us when she “poops” and when she is “wet” – neither of these has been very successful.

I’m not really interested in rushing it, but damn it would be nice to be out from under diapers. For sure. Not only are they an extra expense, with the wipes every two weeks, but they really do make the trash bags I have to carry to the dumpster super freaking heavy. A mommy can wish right?

Speaking of Mommy…. that word. That word right now, gets me every time. She’s been extra clingy and pretty darn cuddly lately. It may be because I’ve been home more than normal this last week. With sickness and utter staled out in the day job, I’ve taken more time off than usual. In fact, I’m on my third day in a row of being off, tomorrow being my last day of my impromptu vacation.

When she looks up at me with big brown eyes and just says, “Mommy.” or when she comes up on the couch and curls up on my lap and leans in real close, lips to my cheek but no kisses, and says, “Mommy?” It just melts my heart right now. Before bed, when I tuck her in and kiss her forehead, it reminds me of the reason I keep sane in moments of terrorism in this house. “Night Night Mommy.” as she curls up with her gigantic sock monkey and drinks her sippy.

IMG_4029

We had a much better day today with Miss Punky. I actually plan to get her an appointment to see her doctor tomorrow if I can get her in, just because the shrieking for no ‘apparent’ reason has become a thing. I am not sure if her diaper is irritating her or if she has something wrong down there, but she has been doing a lot of grabbing at the “no no area”. Now, we are starting to wonder if it hurts when she pees.

And she’s been peeing a lot. This morning, she woke up to a soaked through diaper and pants, and a wet spot in her bed, I had to clean the sheets. It was almost like she wasn’t wearing any diaper at all.

So, off to the doctor with our monster to see if they can find out if she is just being a terror at almost two or if there really is something we should be concerned about.

In the meantime, we had some great fun today, driving her trucks and cars around the living room, watching Mommy figure out how to make clip art like these cuties that I created ALL BY MYSELF in Photoshop!!

preview1

I’m hoping to add clip art to my shop, so that it can be more digital instant downloads, and while I still have the invitations and party planning stuff, I can let the clip art sell itself. So far, these aren’t listed, but they are pretty darn cute, right!?

We also dusted off the Giggle Bellies yesterday and it’s been a common theme the last two days. It’s almost like “Punky Whisperer” and she sits on the couch or dancing around the living room for a full two rounds of the DVD, which luckily Mommy enjoys singing too as well.

IMG_4057

IMG_4056

If you haven’t ever heard of the Giggle Bellies, I highly recommend them. Take a look at them on YouTube. It literally looks like someone created them on LSD, but every kid I’ve ever seen watch them is instantly transfixed. My kid especially.

All in all, we had less shrieking – more loving and more fun today. Thank goodness, this Mommy needed a break from her break from work there for a minute and that means it was rough. If I wanted to go BACK to work for a moment, if I even contemplated it, it means it was tough. Yesterday was tough, today was sweetness.

6 thoughts on “New Things on the Horizon

  1. Your ClipArt owls are awesome!! Job well done.

    I hope the doctor finds nothing wrong with Punky. Sounds like it might be a UTI if she’s having pain while peeing? My niece used to get them, I know kids can…hope she doesn’t have one, though!

    I’m gonna introduce Evie to Giggle Bellies now. 😀

    • Thanks, Lindsay!

      I am hoping they find nothing wrong as well, but we are leaning toward UTI as well. Darnit. I sure hope she doesn’t have one either.

      And, Giggle Bellies is awesome! Hope she loves them as much as we do! The DVDs are cheap and on their website 🙂

What Do You Think?

