Long First Weekend of 2014

We had the unfortunate experience of losing another grandmother in the family shortly after Christmas, so this weekend was the time of memory and honor to a family member. It was also the weekend we went to visit family.

We headed to farmer country. The place I grew up! I was so astonished that this is a “thing” I had to share it with others. Now you know what stock I came from. Haha.

IMG_3848

Another three hour drive with our toddler. It was a typical drive to the Midwest Missouri home I grew up in. We spent the first day hanging out and the second day my sister and her kids came over to visit.

The third day was supposed to be our baby shower that we were throwing for my brother and his wife. Mother Nature intervened. We had 8 inches of snow in the area and we weren’t comfortable letting my brother and 8 month pregnant sister-in-law try to drive 30 minutes to a party.

We were all pretty disappointed, but it was more important for their safety than anything else!

I had to leave their gift at my mom’s so that they could have it later, since I live a good 3 hours away and we won’t be able to come back up until my new nephew is born. I got her all the must have items I needed when I was a new mommy with the First Time Mommy Survival Kit.

IMG_3941

We also had to forgo the nearly 50 cupcakes that my sister made and the cute little shower games we had planned.

IMG_3903

IMG_3955

I wrapped up a bunch of miniature chocolate bars with Baby Avenger labels and they are so cute! Too cute not to show off!

IMG_3956 IMG_3957

In the end, I’m glad that they are safe, just sad we didn’t get to see them when we had a moment to visit. Stupid snow!

Anyway, I also spent my weekend, completely engrossed in the new book I bought with my GooglePlay money I got for Christmas. I was enraptured by “Raising my Rainbow” written by Lori Duron – the writer of a blog I read regularly. It’s the true story about her experiences raising her gender creative son who likes all things made for ‘she’. I have always been an advocate for raising kids, especially my kid, against all the gender stereotypes.

So, I wrapped up the book in just a day or so. I absolutely loved it. I recommend the book to anyone who is interested in a good read. It’s a great story with blatant honestly about parenting and difficult decisions in parenting. I really do admire her and her family. I admire their parenting. I admire their courage to share their family and while I think that Punky is really just a kid who likes all kinds of different toys, gender be damned, if she turned out to be gender creative, I’d strive to be like this supermom!

Punky got to spend time with my mom, which isn’t something that happens often, because we live so far away, but I do love these pictures.

IMG_3892

IMG_3925

I know my mom loves it too! She got a new baby and a few new toys for Christmas, when you have several grandparents on several sides of the family, Christmas is never ending in the beginning of the year.

IMG_3838

All and all, the weekend was pretty good. We got snowed in and it was sort of sad about the party, but overall, we had a nice visit and a nice time. We spent time with family and people we don’t get to see very much. We did miss a lot of people because of the storm, but we are home now, again, snug in our own apartment, but the beauty of family visits are always with me each time we visit.

IMG_3890

 

3 thoughts on “Long First Weekend of 2014

    • Thanks, Lindsay. AND, I was floored by that ad on the tv – of course, at home, I don’t watch commercials, so at my mom’s where DVR and internet don’t exist, I see all sorts of ridiculous things! 😉

What Do You Think?

