Day 10: Christmas In The Park

I came home to a peanut butter M&M explosion on the couch. Seems our little one thought it would be fun to dump the bag on the couch and then munch on them. Oh well. So, I came home to a sugary kid.

We opened our envelope and she wasn’t as interested in it as usual, but she was very excited to go bye bye. It’s very rare we go bye bye in the middle of the week.

IMG_3096

She was super happy to get her socks and shoes on and put on her coat. She loves putting on her hood and it’s kind of cute that she can’t go anywhere without the hood placed on her head.  However, when we got up the stairs and to the door to the building, she was not really having it. She turned tail and tried to go back to our apartment door after the cold wind hit her face.

IMG_3099

We got her in the car and headed to the Christmas in the Park. It’s a park with nothing but a giant Christmas light show. They have all sorts of displays and I figured it would be something new and different for Punky. She seemed to enjoy sitting on her Mama’s lap and looking out the window of the car. She would say hi to the waving elf displays and point to the deer light displays jumping over the car.

IMG_3101

After the drive through the park and the pretty lights, we did have put her back into the car seat and she was not thrilled about this. It was very upsetting to her! She was not pleased to see the lights going away as we drove away from the park.

IMG_3117

We had to go to the grocery store – so we got her out in the grocery store and she got a book out of the deal. Pretty typical of an outing with Punky.

IMG_3119

So day 10 was definitely a success. She was very excited about the lights and it was fun for all!

4 thoughts on “Day 10: Christmas In The Park

  1. Rachael, you and your partner are extraordinary parents! I don’t know how you maintain a sincere, long-term relationship, work full-time and still do these amazing things with your child. Your “advent” calendar is amazing, creative and fun. I love how you incorporate your guys’ past traditions, as well as create new ones for your family. Punky is one of the luckiest kids in the world to have you two for mommies.

    I also wanted to thank you for your Salvation Army post a while back. I had heard those same things before about the organization, but because it doesn’t affect me personally as a straight, I admit it, I forget. I needed your reminder. I have to say, you are truly well mannered and kind in the way that you dealt with that person who represented the Salvation Army. I probably would not have been so nice if I were in your shoes.

    Happy Holidays to you and yours!

    • Glad to hear from you, Charity! You are always quite the ego booster for me 😉 I appreciate all your kind words! I definitely get a little overwhelmed and the calendar isn’t going quite as planned, some events have been bumped, a few have been rearranged, but in the end, it won’t matter! I like to agree that Punky is pretty darn lucky.

      As far as the Salvation Army goes, eh, well, I don’t really like to push my own opinions on other people and I’m sure they do a lot of good – it’s just that they choose who and when to provide the help to. I gave them a dollar once. I don’t beat myself up over it though. Live and learn really. 🙂

      • I really am amazed at what an incredible parent you are. I have known some pretty horrible parents (mom and dad couples) who were horribly neglectful and abusive, both biological and adopted. It saddens me when people are so negative about amazing same-sex couples wanting to have children because they don’t have a “traditional” home. It’s why I cry when I read your blog sometimes, like I am now. Just because someone can easily have a child doesn’t mean he/she makes a great parent. It’s obvious that you and your partner are madly in love with each other and would do anything to consistently encourage and love Punky. Our law makers and citizens need to get in touch with reality and not some “fantasy” that doesn’t exist. If people are willing to work, protect, love and emotionally provide for a child, they should not be denied the honor to raise a child/children.

      • Thanks, hon! It means a lot to have someone as supportive as you are in our lives. Even if it is just on the internet! You are a kind and sweet soul, Charity! I really am glad you found the blog and I’m so happy to have you as a reader 🙂

What Do You Think?

