Day Two: Christmas Movie with Moms

Day two of our Christmas Countdown was pretty uneventful. I got home from work around 6 after going shopping for during movie snacks like popcorn. We had a little dinner and then initiated the envelope fun.

Punky stood patiently waiting for the envelope and when I asked her to pull it off the ribbons, this time she didn’t have the patience for it. Likely for the best really, yesterday she spilled M&Ms on the floor.

IMG_2840

She immediately opened the envelope and dug out the candy. Tonight there were jelly beans in there. She was happy as a clam, she shoved them in her mouth, thus the face she is currently making.

IMG_2842I know she’s not yet two yet, so she doesn’t care about the cards, but I’m damn proud of them, so I am taking a picture with her holding each one this year! This one says “Watch a Christmas Movie”.

Now, I should preface this with the fact that we have never really sat down and had a family movie night with Punky. I never felt like she had the attention span for it. However, Kim had recorded the Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer movie, the clay version and since it was something she always did as a kid, I wanted to make sure we incorporated it into Punky’s traditions.

So, we set up a bowl of cheese puffs, her sippy of milk and curled up on the bed with Mama.

The movie was about an hour, with the addition of commercials, so after fast forwarding, I’d say it’s 40 minutes or so. We got her to keep her attention through most of it. She sat very nicely through the first 15 minutes or so, she jumped on the bed through the next 15-20 minutes and then sat quietly for the last 10 minutes or so. I would say the night was a success!

IMG_2848

IMG_2851

Day two was a hit, I think, we had a chance to snuggle up on the bed together, the three of us and hang out. It was a nice de-stressing moment after a very long, exhausting day for me at work.

OH! And we finally got our stolen money back from the bank. It took nearly two and a half weeks and we were penny pinching like mad, but we made it. It was stressful, but Day 2 of our Christmas Countdown ended on a high.

2 thoughts on “Day Two: Christmas Movie with Moms

  1. I love this Christmas countdown that you’re doing with Peyton. What a great way to get her excited for Christmas and better acquainted with Santa. I was just telling Georgia the other day that if we don’t start getting Grace excited to meet Santa soon, her picture with him will involve lots of terror and crying, lol! I can’t wait to see what else little P gets in her envelopes. 🙂

    • I’m super excited about it too! It’s been a great deal of fun watching her get excited about her envelopes and Kim says she likes to look at them throughout the day. LOL. I will be posting every evening after we have finished our activity. Let’s see if I can keep that up!

What Do You Think?

