Picture-Perfect Weekend

God, I do hate password protected posts. I will just say it. I hate the stupid spam codes and I hate passwords I have to try and remember. While I totally know they are necessary. I still hate them. I especially hate that I have now had to put one on this blog!

Ugh.

Anyway, onto more fun things. AND the reason this post is password-protected.

I got a free camera on Friday. Well, let’s back up, so my camera, that my good best friend got me for my birthday … oh … three/four years ago, it has decided it wants to die. It hasn’t quite died yet, but it makes documenting every single, solitary moment of my daughter’s life very difficult when it just doesn’t want to get the pictures right. They are sometimes blurry, sometimes dark, and sometimes the lens doesn’t come out of hiding at all and there are moments, when my poor … very ill camera doesn’t shutter at all, or shutters too much.

So, my trusted camera has been on life support for some time. Frankly, I find taking pictures with my phone just inadequate. SO, what’s a girl to do when she NEEDS to take pictures of the cutest damn kid in the universe? She searches for a camera.

Where did I get a free camera? Well, I will tell you. I am a member of Freecycle. If you aren’t a member, you really should look up the local group in your area. I’m sure they are all over, well, at least, I’m sure they are in the US. Not so sure about internationally. ¬†Basically, you sign up for the group, linked to YAHOO.com and you post for things you would like to have. All for free. You can also post things you want to get rid of. All for free.

I took a chance and asked if anyone had a digital camera that they just might be interested in giving me. For free. Now, look, I didn’t actually expect someone to give me a camera. But, I took a shot. And guess what? A very nice man contacted me about a camera. ARE YOU KIDDING? I’ve seen things like clothes or books or toys and such on the site, never something as great and wonderful as a digital camera. I mean seriously, we know how much these things cost.

So, the camera isn’t anything special. Not really, but it’s new to me. I am now in possession of a camera AND a 32 GB SD card (Which will hold … wait for it … 9,999 pictures!) for which I just had to use immediately.

I took Punky to a beautiful little place we like to take pictures from time to time and they turned out awesome. I also figured out, after editing these pictures, that my nearly 18 month old baby, just isn’t a baby anymore. She is getting too big. Getting too big, too fast!

IMG_0649

IMG_0655

IMG_0682

IMG_0745

IMG_0749

Punky is also in a very “Huggy” phase right now. AND I love it. She’s just too damn cute for words. Of course, I’m biased, so I will let you be the judge! Hugs and sweet baby “Aww” that comes out of her mouth, just makes me want to melt.

IMG_0755

After we got home, I gave her a hula hoop and we ran around the courtyard of our apartment complex. I just had to shoot her there too. By the end of the day, yesterday, she was just too sick and tired of the camera, but I did get some excellent pictures.

IMG_0787

IMG_0848

IMG_0851

IMG_0863

IMG_0880

This post is really just rambling and not worth much of anything – except the pictures that I took of my precious daughter with my free camera. And, as I look at the pictures and I look back at all the pictures I have of her life thus far, I am reminded – just how lucky K and I are. To have her, to even have her here. Through all the emotionally draining and physically exhausting times we have had over the last 10 years, THIS is what we have to show for it. We may not have a lot of money, but we have happiness well beyond anything we imagined we would have in that college dorm 10 years ago when we met in a little piece of internet history.

And in the end, it’s worth it. I mean really, when you think about, nothing else matters, but this moment. Oh, and this one, where you started using spoons……

IMG_0898

Take care everyone, there’s not much happening in our little corner of the internet. I hope things are all well with everyone who has followed. AND, I really appreciate you all, especially those of you who have followed along despite the stupid password!

Rachael

2 thoughts on “Picture-Perfect Weekend

What Do You Think?

