Our Trip to Gymboree

Punky and I spend Saturdays together. She and I usually leave the house in the afternoon and give her Mama time to sleep in and take a break. Mama stays home with Punky while I go to work because her Bipolar disorder doesn’t allow her to work right now. It makes for a great financial situation that we don’t have to employ daycare, however, it makes me nervous about Punky’s socialization.

She will be a year old in just a few short weeks. She doesn’t really get to be around other kids her age. I have the car at work all day, of course, even if I didn’t, my partner also suffers from agoraphobia and other things that limit her ability to leave the house alone.

I also don’t really have mommy friends. I don’t really have many friends in person at all. We pretty much stay to ourselves. I also have a slight problem with going places by myself in public situations where there may or may not be people I don’t know.

So, all in all, the kid has the unfortunate pleasure of being home bound most of the time.

When I saw the opportunity to attend a free Gymboree session, I thought I might as well get over my fear of strangers and take Punky out to get some socialization. This is a huge change for me since becoming a mother. I honestly have to make myself get out and mingle with other people.

So, we arrived at Gymboree, I didn’t talk myself out of it or reschedule it like I normally would have done with an outing like this. And, all in all we had a nice time.

The instructor explained that each week there would be a new theme. The theme this week was ramps and rhymes. So, we were teaching the kids to climb up ramps and slide down slides. There were all sorts of mats and tumbling things for the kids to crawl on and play on. There were colorful tunnels, that Punky chose not to even attempt. Lots of singing and exercise. This mommy was worn out by the end of the day.

We live as a fairly lower, middle class family in a pretty affluent town. Everything is pretty overpriced, I am intimidated by the moms that I see at the park in their SUVs and stylish clothes. Though I am sure I am just paranoid, I also feel like they look at me funny. So stepping foot into this place was something I sorely did not want to do on a personal level.

     CIMG4376

However, for Punky, it was something I was willing to overcome. Also, we don’t have many friends, mommy or otherwise, that we associate with outside of family. So, I wasn’t sure how the atmosphere was going to be with a two mommy household.

After the class, I realized that most of the parents were as new as me, so we were all keeping to ourselves. I also realized that Punky was having fun, though she was apprehensive and I knew that I had to make the numbers work to allow her to go back again.

I spoke with the instructor and got the scoop on the classes and I was told that I could enroll in the Saturday classes and the 1 Saturday a month that I had to work, I could make it up on that Monday. So, it was a great set up for a working mom. Not to mention that they have an open gym play on Sundays, so I thought that might also be awesome.

CIMG4379

It’s definitely worth the money. Punky and I will get some bonding time in an environment where she can play with other kids and learn things. I think the cost is not as bad as I thought, because at first I thought it was a once a month class for $65, but its really once a week class, which is great.

The instructor also told me they are having a special for $20 off the first three months and giving out 4 free class passes, so we could attend 2 classes a week if we wanted to. I think it’s quite a deal and I think we will do it.

Basically, I enjoyed taking Punky to Gymboree and I am glad that we can expose her to other kids her age and bring her out of her shell the more she goes.

2 thoughts on “Our Trip to Gymboree

    • LOL. That’s her real life nick name too 😛 I have decided that whatever Punky wants to do, she can do. Right now, we like Gymboree and until she’s big enough to tell me what she likes or wants, we will do what I want! I only get a few years of that. But, one can hope dance is in the cards! ❤

What Do You Think?

