Family Visit and Letter to Peyton

Dear Peyton,


Mommy doesn’t want you to be one. I can’t imagine that you are already old enough to drink from a sippy, to walk from couch to chair. I can’t begin to believe that you are waving and SAYING “bye”. I can’t get enough of you little baby laugh. You are never going to be a big kid to me. You will always be Mommy’s tiny, precious, beautiful miracle. My very heartbeat.

In just a few short weeks, you will be ONE. I can’t believe it. I refuse to believe it. Pretty soon we will be hearing you count to ten and ask why the sky is blue. I am not ready for that. I don’t want my baby to grow up! Where did the time go? Where has the last year gone? I have no idea. You are growing up to be so smart and so funny. You are made with such a unique and beautiful personality. 

In less than 5 weeks, you will have your birthday. You will be ONE. I want some more cuddles before you get too big. I want some more smoochies before you are too embarrassed. I want some more bath pictures before its too weird to be taking them. I want to put you in just a few more footed pajamas before they don’t make your size anymore.

You will always be Mommy’s little girl. I promise. It matters not how old you are. You will always be a baby to me.

Love, 

Mommy ❤
***************
So we spent the weekend with my family. My family lives 2 and half hours away, which means we always have to prepare for riding in the car with the baby. In her whole ALMOST ONE year of life, Peyton has not ever really slept in the car. So, we were concerned that this would be an issue. So, I started the day by headed to WIC and they pricked her little finger for iron. She was spot on. Then we went to Mama’s doctor’s appointment with her. After that, it was pretty much nap time. This means, hopefully a sleeping kid on the way to my parents’ house. Sure enough, we headed towards our destination and shortly after we got going, she fell asleep.
Once we got there, we headed to my dad’s house first. She didn’t really warm up to my dad right away. Which is pretty normal. She’s used to quiet and calm. My dad is neither of these things. So, she was a little shy around him. Every time he looked at her, she cried. When we put her on his lap, she cried. So he lured her with an oatmeal cream pie. It worked for a few minutes.
It worked pretty well for a few minutes. Basically any food that he offered her, she would take, but tickling? Nope. Playing? Absolutely not. However, when my youngest brother came in the house, she took to him with no problems at all!
This is probably my favorite picture from the weekend. SO sweet! Anyway, we hung out at my dad’s house for a while and then we headed to my mom’s house where we were staying the night. After a really long night of sick sister being rushed to the hospital, screaming nephew and no sleep, the next day was full of bed head and cats.
We spent the afternoon there and then headed back to my dad’s house for the rest of the day. We had a nice ham and mashed potato dinner. It was pretty awesome. While we waited for dinner, Peyton and their pitbull Petey looked out the window and pondered the cold outside.

I love these pictures. Also, we discovered something else. Peyton started to recognize when the camera was on her. She would hear the camera come on and she would turn her head, wrinkle her nose and smile. It was the most adorable thing I have ever seen. She is usually very hard to get to smile for the camera. For the last 10 months, its like pulling teeth to get her to smile for the camera. So, since then every time the camera is pointed in her direction, she smiles like this:

She also made up with her grandpa. It is the most adorable thing to watch. Ignore all the talk in the background, the people in the house didn’t know I was video taping the whole tickle session.
After dinner, we went back to my mom’s again to stay the night. We had a much quieter night but still an early morning. Peyton’s sleep schedule was off on this trip. However, she did eat Lucky Charms for the first time and her Aunt J gave her the first of many temporary tattoos.

 
That afternoon, she played with the blocks that Grandma gave her for Christmas. She was quite happy to watch Grandma stack the blocks so she could kick them over!
She had a little chicken nuggets for lunch, in a high chair she’s not used to. She is used to a full tray, so this was an interesting experience for us. She thought for sure she needed to stand up in the chair.
After some lunch she helped Grandma play cards. Grandma won in the end. Of course she did! With this lucky charm on her lap, who wouldn’t win?!

Before we left my mom’s house, she had a nice little wrestling match with her Cousin M. Her cousin is the first grandbaby of the family and she’s 5, just started Kindergarten. She’s the only girl with 2 younger brothers, so M is always thrilled to have a little girl time.
Of course, when we left my mom’s house, both my mom and sister cried. They always do when we leave. We went to my brother’s house and hung out with him and his wife. We had not been to their house before and it was pretty neat to just hang out and watch The Lorax. We didn’t get to finish it, but Kim and I have decided we will see if its on Netflix, because what we saw of it, was pretty cute.
It’s so cold outside and the air is so dry. It doesn’t help that she has the craziest hair on the planet anyway, so when I took her little hat off, her hair looked like this:
She loves her Uncle C. He’s pretty cool and he likes to dance with her and sing crazy songs to her. Here, they were hanging out on the couch reading a comic book. I just know he’s going to make an awesome daddy someday.

We stayed the night at my brother’s house and then came home today. Kim is sleeping and I am blogging. Peyton is playing with all her toys that are not being shared by her cousins. I have two more days before I have to be back at work and I plan on spending that time relaxing and watching TV, playing Ruzzle on Facebook (Thanks, C and H) and playing with my baby girl. 
She’s going to be one soon, you know. I got to get in all the cuddles and playtime I can!
Until next time, 
Take Care ❤
Rachael
2 thoughts on “Family Visit and Letter to Peyton

  1. I cracked up when I read the part about Peyton making silly smile faces for the camera because Grace just started doing the same exact thing! It is the funniest face ever and I can't get her to give me her normal smiles any more, lol! That video of her with your dad is too cute. Happy almost birthday, Peyton. 🙂

  2. I know right! She scrunches up her little nose and cheeses so big! I am not really sure where she got it! LOL, Everytime the camera comes anywhere near her, I get this same face and her eyes are all squinty. I can't be mad at her though, its too darn cute!The video is precious. Since my dad didn't speak to me for 6 years after I came out, this is a great step that warms my heart. We have been through a ton and to come out on this side, makes me so happy!

What Do You Think?

