Birthday Party Planning for Procrastinating Mommy

Time snuck up on me! I swear, suddenly, my kid will be a year old in less than 6 weeks. How the hell did that happen?

This is not exactly abnormal to other parts of my life. I am pretty terrible about time management and remembering things. I have been looking forward to this birthday for months, and just now realized I have nothing really started. I have no decorations, no invites and no place to have this party!

With all the overtime I have been working this month, I haven’t had time to sit down with Kim either and go over what we want to do for the party. We have a theme and that’s about it. I do have a lot of inspiration and I am sure to try and use as many of them as possible.

Right now, I know that I am going to attempt to make my own invitations. I found these really cute tickets on Etsy and I think I want to try and make something similar. But for the invitations, I am looking at something like these that I also found on Etsy in this shop. Though I may end up buying the digital for it and printing to my hearts content. Especially if I get too behind and procrastinate too long.

I know of two things I am definitely shooting for doing for this party. I want to have a table set up with the book “Happy Birthday To You” and have guests write little notes to her in it. I have a journal that I have been keeping hand written letters to Peyton since before she was born. I have also decided that I will pass that around to all her immediate family (Aunts, Uncles, Grandmas and Grandpas) and have them write her a letter for her first birthday.

We have been taking weekly pictures of Peyton since she was born. I am going to be putting those on display. I think I will make a banner like this mother did on a blog I found.

Of course none of this is final, because Kim and I haven’t actually sat down and looked at things together. But, I do have a girl at work making her a cake for her to smash into. We need to come up with cake and food for everyone else at the party. I am using this cake as inspiration for her smash cake. We won’t have the exact same cake, but this is the color scheme and design look I am going for.

I so want her to wear something super cute on her birthday. I am toying around with two ideas. I don’t think this dress is going to be doable, because I don’t have a sewing machine or sewing skills, but its adorable! I might be able to ask the woman who made her Halloween costume to make it for me, but I don’t know if that’s too much to ask! I do so love it! The onesie and tutu are definitely doable. I can order the onesie from Etsy. I freaking love Etsy. Peyton already has a red tutu like this.

So now we need to do these things:

  • Find a place to have this party.
  • Make/Get Invitations and mail them.
  • Get decorations.
  • Get her something to wear
  • Figure out food!
  • Figure out the cakes
So, yes, I sort of used this post to make a list of things I need to remember to do. Oy. 6 weeks. I CANNOT BELIEVE IT. Our baby girl is just getting bigger and bigger and its ridiculous!
Take Care ❤
Rachael
What Do You Think?

