My trip to Minnesota and a Dancing Cup of Pee

I like to joke that I haven’t been out of state before. I have been in Kansas and once I went to Arkansas for 5 days. I have never been on a plane though. So, when I learned I was going to Minnesota for a business trip, I was happy and nervous at the same time!

Unfortunately, I didn’t pack my camera memory card and when we got to the Mall of America and I bought a new card, I realized I didn’t have the camera with me, it was in the car. Bummer. This is what happens when I am a scatterbrained, not prepared person. So, I have no real pictures of the Mall of America. I do have the rest of my trip in pictures, much like a day in the life of Peyton, but it will be a trip in my life.

Ok, so this is the picture from after the Mall of America. We went to Dick’s Last Resort for lunch and my boss got a nice drink in this coconut head. It was called “Cumoniwannalaya” Fitting for this restaurant  If you don’t know what Dick’s Last Resort is, or you have never been there, I highly recommend going. Its kind of fantastic. The waiter was very good at his job. “Service with Sarcasm” – never heard of it before and I would totally do it again!

I am sure street signs don’t mean anything to anyone else, but I had never really been out of my small little bubble. It was cool to me to see the streets of Minneapolis. I work in a call center and I talk to the people in Minnesota all the time, so recognizing the street name was a pretty awesome experience for me.

Five Guys is one of my most favorite restaurants where we live. However, our Five Guys is a small whole in the wall in a strip mall location compared to this one. I was astonished at the size of this one. I took this picture while the driver of the rental car was in was making a very large …. scary wide left turn.

We ate at Keys Cafe and Bakery for dinner. I am pretty sure I should have gotten the Turkey everyone kept raving about, but the bacon cheeseburger was just right for my small town mentality. Its a quaint little place to eat and I really liked their Chocolate Peanut Butter cake. I hear the House Cake is better, but I didn’t get to try that. Maybe next time we go to Minnesota I will get the things everyone kept raving about!

This was just two of the characters outside the cafe. They were all too cute not to get a pictures. There were “Peanuts” characters all over the place. That’s me with a pie in the face.

After all of our shopping and eating we went to check into our hotel. My boss and I had reserved two rooms in her name nearly a month before this trip. When we got to the hotel, they had given one of the rooms away! They said they were fully booked and they had to give our room to someone else. HOW does that kind of thing happen? I have no idea. This hotel was not on my top list of favorite people. My boss and I had to share a room – not a bed, just a room – and it was not the greatest night sleep I had ever had.

We had to wake up at an ungodly hour of like 5 am or something because we had to eat breakfast and then go to the Benefit Fair we were speaking at. This restaurant was connected to our hotel. The staff was better than their hotel counterparts and their food was pretty good too.

We left in that white car you see in the picture. It was raining that morning and dreary. I was dressed up in business casual type attire and super tired. I also missed my baby!

I work in the Healthcare industry, prescriptions to be exact. We were at our client’s site visiting the benefit fair so that we could tell their employees all about the prescription plan they have. Other vendors were there as well. One vendor has a mascot. When I get a chance to edit these pictures, I can flip it around upright. Basically, its a cup of pee. A … dancing cup of pee. I don’t know the purpose, I didn’t stop at their booth, but seriously … a cup of pee. I had to get a picture of it.

After the benefit fair, we headed straight to the airport. Our ride had to catch her plane at 5pm. With the state of the airport security, we had to arrive 2 hours early. Our flight wasn’t until 8 pm. This means … we were looking at being in the Minnesota airport for 5 hours. We rode a tram, that’s what the picture to the left is. Its all bumper to bumper kind of thing. I took a picture because I have never been on one.

I also took a picture of the ‘walking thingie’ that we got around on in the airport. Our airport doesn’t have such things. I took video of this too. So, I think myself quite talented. I was able to pull my suitcase behind me, balance myself on this moving walk thingie and hold my camera steady. All after standing for at least 6 hours at the Benefit Fair, so my feet were KILLING me.

A picture of a plane outside the window while we waited in the airport. I was also eating a blizzard from the Dairy Queen while I took this picture. By the time we got the blizzards, I was so bored, I was taking pictures of random planes outside that weren’t mine, wishing they were mine. To top it all off, there was a 2 year little girl watching the planes from the window across the restaurant and I couldn’t help but wonder what my baby Peyton was doing.

After 5 hours of walking through the airport, eating blizzards and wasting a ton of time on my already sore feet, we learned that our flight was delayed by an hour. This is how I reacted to that bit of news. This also meant that we would likely miss our connecting flight in Chicago. Boy was I super not happy about this. I was ready to get on a plane and get the heck home. I was already going to be getting home around 1 am. Now, I had to wait longer for my plane.

When we did finally realize that we would miss our connecting flight in Chicago. We had to decide if we wanted to wait longer in the airport for the flight … or we could get a hotel (on the airport’s expense) and get a direct flight home in the morning. We chose that route, since we didn’t see the point in probably missing our last flight in Chicago and having to stay the night there too.

The next morning, we went through a SUPER long line at the airport to get back through security. It was another ungodly ridiculous time in the morning. The security people were cute though, they had funny little accents and were cracking jokes the whole time. Something about Green Bay Packers and being the devil. I’m not sure. I was half asleep. Anyway, I got a sticker from one of the guys cause I smiled. I am now .. a Junior TSA something or another.

As we waited for the plane, this ridiculous woman sat across from me. She clearly thought it was appropriate to wear socks with flip flops. I don’t think I understand who thinks this is a good idea. Fine. Wear your socks with your flip flops. I won’t feel bad for taking your picture without you noticing. Also, it wouldn’t be so bad, if it didn’t look like her feet belonged in a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle casting call.


This is me on the plane. Finally on my way home. I was more than a little tired. More than a little homesick. And oh, so ready to get the heck home.

This is my … I haven’t slept well, my feet are killing me, I miss my child face.

But, I was on the plane home. Direct flight. So happy.

Also, it was the second time I had been on a plane. I was less nervous the second time around. I had a memory card in my camera and I was able to take pictures of the stuff out of my window. This made me happy.

After I got the picture of random things on the ground, puffy clouds, and a sunset, I fell promptly asleep. I never sleep in public. I never sleep in moving vehicles. I couldn’t help myself. I fell asleep.

This is me in OUR airport. I have never been so happy to be home. I was so happy that I had to take a picture of me being so happy.

Notice my awesome jacket I got while in Minnesota. I forgot to point that out in earlier pictures, but it is super cute and was super cheap.

Not to mention that Minnesota doesn’t have sales tax.

When I finally got home, after 2 days and 2 nights away from home, I was greeted by my sweet little Peyton. She nearly jumped out of her Mama’s arms and flung herself into mine. She gave me lots of wet slobbery kisses and I just couldn’t help but cry. She was dancing and squealing with delight at the sight of me.

Where you been, Mommy!? I missed you!

It doesn’t get much better than that feeling.

Anyway, probably boring to everyone else, but that was my first trip out of state and my encounter with a dancing cup of pee.

Take Care ❤
Rachael

2 thoughts on “My trip to Minnesota and a Dancing Cup of Pee

  1. I'm so glad you found our blog. You have a cutie on your hands. And I will admit it … I wear socks and flip flops. But I'm from Ohio. I blame it on that! And I only wear socks with my flip flops when I take the dogs outside. So I guess it's not too bad.

What Do You Think?

