I Traumatized My Baby

So, we all know that Peyton is 4 and a half months old. She’s still little, regardless of her size. Technically, the baby is a giant! Anyway, we planned a trip to visit my family this passed weekend and it didn’t really go the way I had hoped.

Mommy and Peyton

Let’s preface this by saying …. Peyton only knows her mommies.

Truly, we don’t have people over and we don’t really go out with her. We are both pretty much homebodies and don’t leave the apartment if we can help it. Peyton knows my brother because he comes to visit, my sister because she lives with us, Kim’s sister because she visits frequently, and Kim’s mom and step-dad because we are over there a lot.

Papa Gary makes Peyton scream

However, Peyton kind of made it look like she hates men. She screamed at my dad. She screamed at my step dad. She screamed at my grandpa. BUT, she also screamed at my mom and my grandma as well.

So, its not a gender thing. Its not about having two mommies. I am sure that people will be jumping to the conclusion that the lack of males in her life has a bad effect on her tiny brain. That’s not true. 

My daughter was unsure all weekend



It is now the time in her development where she is creating bonds with the people she knows and cares about. She doesn’t know my family. It makes me sad really. It was even worse when she was screaming at my grandpa and then he didn’t know who I was. He’s getting dementia and that’s another story, but it still made me sad that I couldn’t get a picture of Peyton with my grandpa because she wouldn’t let him hold her. I don’t know how long he has left with us.


Basically, Peyton isn’t really exposed to different kinds of people. This is our fault. She’s not used to loud places or people. She’s not used to being in the car that much and the drive was 2.5 hours to and from. She’s not used being held all the time or having people in her face constantly. She’s not used to being passed around and she’s not used to being played with all the time.

This is her “unimpressed” face

Peyton has a schedule. This weekend screwed up her schedule. She didn’t nap. She refused to nap. Not only because she was overwhelmed, but also because she had some much she wanted to see. Not to mention that I realized this weekend that I have a serious baby. Her personality is pretty quiet and observant. She wants to look at everyone. She wants to see what’s going on. She really doesn’t smile at people unless she means it.

This weekend. She didn’t really mean it. She was not impressed with my family and she was not impressed with the importance that I had in my heart for her to love my side of the family. They were so excited for us to come visit and so excited to see her. They hadn’t seen her since she was 3 weeks old, so she is more interactive now. Unfortunately, she usually just gave them all this funny look.

SO SLEEPY.

So, the entire weekend, we fought about napping and interacting. She didn’t want to take naps, so she was always tired. A tired baby is not a happy baby. Unfortunately, that made things so much worse. She is not at all a nice baby when she hasn’t had her naps. She is on a schedule of sleeping, eating, playing and repeating all through the day. She didn’t have her bed or her toys readily on hand. So, instead, she was not interested in playing or sleeping in unfamiliar territory.

Her cousin is grabbing on her.

Instead of playing with her cousins, who … I’ll admit … are a little loud and ornery, she played with her toes. Her toes and her mommies were her best friends this weekend.

So sleepy and sucking on her toes
is apparently very soothing.

Even when we got home, she was not having any part of naps or being playful and cute. She screamed at us for a really long time and it wasn’t until this morning that she was even close to her normal self. So, note to her mommies, we need to socialize the kid. I didn’t think it really made a difference, since she was so small. Apparently, that’s something we need to work on. I am going to see if I can find a mommy and me type thing to take her to. She can’t sit on her own yet, but I really think just bringing her around other people will be helpful.

We have another visit in October. Let’s hope by then she will be older, less skittish, and more socialized!!

Take Care

What Do You Think?

