Letter To Peyton – 4 months old

07/10/2012
4 ½ months old


Dear Peyton,

I have decided to write you a letter every so often and if I can get my act together, give them to you when you graduate. I doubt that I will actually follow through with this plan, but I will do my best. 18 years is a long time, though. And Mommy is a little flighty, your Mama will be sure to point that out.

I want you to know that I love you more than anything in the world. You are the one person that I have always wanted in my life. I wished for you for so many years and against all odds, you are finally here. The last four months have been so very hard, but only because I have never been a mommy before. I keep telling myself that it’s not because I don’t like being your mommy, it’s because I am not used to it.

I actually love being your mommy. I am so thankful to have you in my life. I will never be able to find the words to say thank you to the many people who helped make you possible. I have dreamed of you for more years that I can count in my life. I have watched my friends and family have babies and wish so much that I had my own.

I now have you.

Of all the things I have done in my life, having you has been the hardest and the most rewarding thing I have ever done. Most likely the hardest thing I will ever do in my life. I promise to always love you, no matter what. I promise to give you the support you need when you grow up. I promise to be proud of you in all you want to do.

Its not everyday that people get to experience miracles. I am so glad that I am one of those people who have a miracle in my life. I will never take for granted the love that I hold for you and the overwhelming feeling I have when I look into your eyes.

I love to hear your laugh and your fingers wrapped around mine is just the best feeling in the world. I am looking forward to watching you grow and being the best Mommy to you that I know how to be. However, I hope that you will be patient with me. I am new to this.

No Mommy is perfect and no daughter comes with a handbook, but together, I believe we can make it through anything.

I will love you to the moon and back.
Hugs and Kisses,

Mommy

What Do You Think?

