2 Ups and 2 Downs

So, I have been following this podcast called PregTastic for a few weeks now. A podcast about women who are pregnant for women who are pregnant. I love it. They talk about all sorts of things. So far, I have gone back to the very beginning episodes and listened to them religiously. I didn’t want to miss anything. I have listened to their breastfeeding series and the episode about the epidural and gestational diabetes. I love it. What I love most about this podcast is in the beginning of these episodes, the women go around the room and do their 2 ups and 2 downs for the week. It has inspired me to keep a journal of my own ups and down from week to week.

2 Ups:

  • My physical therapy has been working. I don’t feel nearly as much pain in my hip as I did before I went. While I originally thought physical therapy was such a silly idea, thank you DOCTOR, for suggesting it. I am sure that I will regret it when the bill comes, but with everything else in this pregnancy, I am just … going with the flow.
  • I have finally found a comfortable position to sleep. What position might you ask? Its on the couch. That’s the position. ON . The . Couch. I know, I know. I resisted this for quite some time, but our tried and true TempurPedic is over 10 years old and frankly, its dead. Long since a distant memory of the beautiful foam it was in its youth. On top of that, from practically the time my partner and I have lived together, the mattress has been on the floor, no frame to speak of. With my hip and my slow moving-ness, this is not great for comfort and sleep. Especially when I need to pee 80 times a night.

2 Downs:

  • The bills are piling up. I admit it. I knew that a baby was expensive. I knew with America’s healthcare system, its not like other women in other countries who ‘don’t pay for their babies, they come free’. I knew that. (Check out SICKO, if you haven’t already. Great documentary.) I DIDN’T realize how astronomically expensive the first 3 months of my pregnancy would be. Now, don’t get me wrong, of course, I picked the cheapest insurance I could have chosen for myself during open enrollement. However, I was also not thinking of conceiving a child any time soon. So, what do I do with all these bills, you ask? For now … I don’t let them stress me out. I put them in a pile on the bookshelf and think of them not. At least until we can afford to pay them. I will get to them when I get to them.
  • We are moving. Eventually, we will be moving. We can’t afford our one bedroom apartment right now, on one income and while its inevitable, its sad. I like having a space of our own. But, in a way, its an Up of the week too. We will be able to save the money we haven’t been able to save and we will be able to get something bigger for when this bundle of joy arrives. So, while right now, its a bummer, I can smile a little. Yea, we may be living in my mother-in-law’s basement for several months, but I know its for the best. The pros far outweigh the cons. Its just a little sad.

So, there you have it. My week 14 ups and downs.

Other than that, there really isn’t anything going on. I had three days off, without cable or internet, there’s really not a lot to do. Especially when you have approximately 30 cents to your name until payday (Tomorrow thank goodness). Anyway, here’s a weekend of work and hopefully nice weather.

Take Care

What Do You Think?

