Family Reunion

Things I get to discuss with family
Most of my family know that I have been with my partner for 8 years. However, those same people have not really been around us on a regular basis. She and I live about 3 hours away from my immediate family and the rest of my family is dispersed throughout the state or country at any given time. I am headed to a family reunion this weekend and I am a little stressed out. I mean, I just don’t know if I am ready for all the questions, the looks, and the comments.
When I went to my brother’s wedding there was comments about his ‘older sister being a dyke’ and my partner overheard it. Its not something I particularly like to hear about and yet, I also don’t want to stress out about it. This pregnancy is very early and I am not in any denial that I could very well miscarry at any time if I am not extremely careful.
While I am happy about the way we went about conceiving this baby, I do not want to do it again. It was not fun. I am just glad we were blessed with it taking the first try. I also hope that means that I will have a baby that is resilient and I will go to full term without problems. That’s my biggest paranoia.
Anyway, most family that I haven’t seen in a while are similiar to strangers or co-workers who have that one question: “How did this happen?” Which is just an annoying and very tactless question to ask. However, I will answer it, because its really simple and I sometimes like to make people feel stupid. Especially right now, when everything is annoying me.
What I am really hoping is that I don’t have to pee fifteen times on the way there! Everything else, once we get there, I think I can handle!
So, while, I don’t think that people are reading this blog really, wish me luck Internet. We are leaving for the family reunion in about 15 minutes and I am sure I will have tons of pictures and comments when I come back on Tuesday. 🙂
What Do You Think?

